New Paid Leave Law in Nevada

By Lindsay H. S. Hesketh

Beginning on January 1, 2020, Nevada will require private employers with 50 or more employees to provide their employees with paid leave. Covered employers must allow employees to accrue paid leave at a rate of .01923 hours for each hour worked.  Employees can begin using their accrued paid leave on their 90th calendar day of employment.  Employers may allow employees to carry over unused accrued leave from year to year, but also may cap the carry-over amount to 40 hours.  Similar to other leave laws, employers must also keep records tracking employees’ accruals and use of paid leave and provide an accounting of available paid leave to each employee on each payday.

Unlike some federal and state leave laws limited to family and sick leave, employees may use paid leave under Nevada’s new law for any reason and do not need to provide a reason for its use to their employer.  However, employees must provide notice of their desire to use paid leave as soon as practicable.  When employees act in accordance with this law, employers cannot deny employees the right to use paid leave, require an employee to find a replacement worker while on paid leave, or retaliate against an employee for using accrued paid leave.  Nevada may collect remedies and penalties, plus a $5000 fine, for each violation.

The law does not apply to otherwise eligible employers during their first two years of operation; temporary, seasonal, or on-call employees; and employers who already provide their employees with the same or a more generous amount of paid leave. 

You can read the entire bill as adopted here.